SAS Announces Election Results for Next Year

On March 26, Scripps students voted for the 2009-2010 Scripps Associated Students (SAS) officer positions, bringing in a set of both new and old faces to represent the Scripps students on SAS for the upcoming year.Anna Salem (‘10) won the election for SAS President, succeeding Fatima Elkabti (‘09), who served as president for the 2008-2009 school year. Among the list of Salem's tasks for the following year will be working with reduced funding and communicating with Scripps' new president Lori Bettison-Varga. "I am very excited to be elected alongside our new college president," Salem said. "I hope to represent the Student Body's voice to our new president, administration, Board of Trustees and the community-at-large. With a limited budget and a new college president, Scripps' priorities are more important than ever and I want to ensure that Scripps' agenda reflects student needs and concerns." Other projects on Salem's agenda for next year will be working on a Sexual Assault Awareness and Response program at the 5Cs, ensuring financial aid for students and appropriate funding for academic departments, and continuing social programming, particularly directed toward dorm life. Elkabti, who has worked with Salem previously on SAS, said that she is pleased about Salem's election and confident in her abilities to lead the student body. "[Salem] is a very capable and responsible leader," Elkabti said. "She is passionate about giving voice to those students who feel marginalized or underrepresented. She is also committed to continuing conversations about students' financial aid concerns with the administration." In the time period before the elections, students running for specific positions on SAS submitted statements of intent, which were then posted in the dorms and in Seal Court. Candidates gave speeches at the Motley on March 25. Voting occurred from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. on March 26, and election results were emailed to the student body that night at 8 p.m. While multiple candidates ran for some SAS offices, several positions were uncontested. Not a single student ran for the position of Dorm Activities Chair.  Elkabti hopes that in the future, there will be more student participation in SAS, and that students will not be deterred by other candidates to run for office. "I'd like to see more students running for SAS positions, based on their interest and regardless of whether others are running against them," Elkabti said. "I'm afraid that we've developed a culture at Scripps that is so warm, so amiable that students actually shy away from running for positions for which there are contenders. I think that this can be unhealthy in the long run, not to mention that it makes the elections process seem perfunctory." Despite the somewhat low numbers of students running for SAS offices, the women most recently elected to SAS are enthusiastic about their involvement in the Scripps community. Joining Salem next year for SAS will be Abby Jones (Sophomore Class President), Ti'esh Harper and Claire Shaw (Junior Class Co-Presidents), Abby Hye and Lauren Dominguez (Senior Class Co-Presidents), Guadalupe de la Cruz and India Mullady (Co-Treasurers), Rachael Ballard (5C Events Chair), Anne Hershewe (CLORGS Chair), Lauren Frederick (Formal Events Chair), Melissa Mesinas (Faculty-Staff Relations Chair), Adrienne Beitcher (Environmental Chair), Sasha Thrailkill (Dorm Activities Chair), Susan Segar (Social Activities Chair), Antoinette Myers (Multicultural Relations Chair), Mayra Ibarra (Judicial and Academic Review Chair), Alex Satariano (Campus Activities Chair), Ariana Ceballos (Secretary) and Simrat Dugal (Vice President).